A noob tip to DRASTICALLY improve overall VAM VR performance

Voithe

Reactions
Let's be clear: I'm a noob about VR so... this may be a very well known issue but... the performance boost is too much to not ensure that everyone on the planet know that.

I discovered this "trick" thanks to MacGruber explanation of Asynchronous Spacewarp (alias Motion Smoothing). So... give a very BIG THANK YOU to him if you, like me, gain a performance boost from that.

MacGruber said:
What is Asynchronous Spacewarp or Motion Smoothing?

• By default most (or all) VR headsets try to reduce motion sickness by introducing additional interpolated images when your machine can't keep up with your headsets native refresh rate. Oculus calls this Asynchronous Spacewarp (ASW) while SteamVR uses the term Motion Smoothing (MS). While both implementations are a bit different, basically the goal for a 90Hz headset is to stablize the game framerate at 45Hz (or 30Hz), while your eyes still get the 90Hz with additional interpolated frames inbetween. This is usually a good thing, so normally, if your system can't keep stable 90fps all the time, you would want it enabled. However, for a Benchmark it makes it impossible to get useful measurements, apparent differences between machines would be very small and mostly just random noise as you can only end up with 30, 45 or 90fps. Find instructions how to turn this off below.

You can find his original post here (as part of his "Benchmark" plugin description).

So... how this works?