Answered How to make sure I don't share something I shouldn't...

WolfmanVR

Reactions
Website
www.patreon.com
Patreon
wolfmanvr
Hey everyone! I'm fairly new to VaM, and so far I'm blown away by the program and the community. I've been learning the ropes and would like to start sharing some stuff as well (both for feedback and to give back to the community). However, I want to make sure I don't share anything that isn't ok to share. I see that a lot of people call out the creators of materials they used that were created/owned by other people. Is there an easy way to determine which atoms, textures, clothes, hair, environments, etc. came with VaM vs. ones that I've added into AddonPackages or under the Custom folder?

I just want to make sure I don't step on anyone's toes here...

Thanks!

WolfmanVR

The easiest way of telling what type of a license a certain VAR has is to open a package manager:

VAM_PackageMan.png

and highlight desired VAR package on the left. On the right side you should have all information about license (usually CC-BY) of the package contents:

Nx7XDhvAF7.gif

As far as I know, packages labelled as "MeshedVR" came with VAM.

Another way is to open a VAR file in 7-Zip or another ZIP management file (VAR files are basically ZIP files) and view the file META.JSON in the root folder of the package. It should have all the license, authors and dependencies information.

KG

Upvote 0
I just played around with the package builder. It tells me everything I want to know and who to credit, if necessary. Perfect! I hope to upload my first model/scene in the next day or two.

WolfmanVR

Upvote 0
I hope to upload my first model/scene in the next day or two.

What??? I am fairly new myself, I've been playing around with VAM for 3-4 months now. But I am not ready to share anything I create because of poor quality of my scenes. How come you are so creative? ;)

Upvote 0
Last question on this thread, that is somewhat related....