• Hi Guest!

This is a notice regarding recent upgrades to the Hub. Over the last month, we have added several new features to improve your experience.
    You can check out the details in our official announcement!

Question Some looks and Scenses are disapperared

zuma123

Reactions
I have been playing this game for almost 2 years, and the graphics are indeed beautiful, but the operations are extremely complex.
Recently, I obtained some var files for the looks and scenes, and copied them to the addonpackages folder. After opening VAM, I found that many of the previous scenes and looks have been disappeared. Even though I tried to copy them again, the results still did not change, and the newly added looks and scenes cannot be displayed. What is the reason for this? How to solve it? Thank you!

Solution
A VAR is just a zip file essentially. I've experienced and seen others having a problem that when a VAR is corrupted in some way it can break the scanning process of VaM when it loads.
A corrupt VAR can be from a unfinished download for example. If it is corrupted and if you try to open the VAR with 7zip, winrar, whatever you use, it gives an error, but the main problem is finding it in the first place ;)

My sugestion to see if a corrput VAR is the problem is to sort your VARs in AddonPackages by date, move the recent ones to a folder outside of VaM's, then start VaM and see if all is loaded as expected. If all is well, then try to open the VARs with your zip application and see if any give an error.
If you confirm that they are in the AddonPackages folder but do not show as they as they should, for example it's a scene and doesn't show in the Sceen Browser, then perhaps you have a corrupt VAR that is breaking the scanning process.

Upvote 0