Quest 2 - Hand Tracking 2.0 is... WOW!!!

DanVR

Reactions
Hi All,
This could be interesting if you own a Quest 2 headset (I purchased mine a couple weeks ago, also I'm still a noob in VAM).

I'm not sure if this will be possible in VAM or maybe it's already in dev based on the old Hand Tracking (version 1.0) but this could change A LOT in the experience.
Maybe there is already a plugin to try the Hand Tracking I'm not even sure, sorry for being the clueless noob but I just wanted to share this with you guys:

This feature is already implemented in VaM, it's called "Leap motion". So you can use it already ;)
Thanks I didn't know that! I thought Leap Motion is a very specific old device!
I'm not sure how to make it works, but I must try it :)

Last edited:
This feature is already implemented in VaM, it's called "Leap motion". So you can use it already ;)
Is Leap Motion actually good in VAM? I've heard mixed reviews on it, but specifically for VAM would be nice to have both hands free.

@DanVR
Now I'm unsure about what I said :unsure:
I thought it's more or less just a placeholder for this technique.

@TreyWilly
I tried it but I wasn't very pleased with it. It was kind of to laggy (not that much but it breaks the immersion) and actually it felt weired to touch a person in VR without touching anything in real life. It sounds weired but grabbing on a controller is more immersive than acting with nothing.

That's what I thought because Leap Motion is an old device.
Unfortunately, I don't think VAM is working with this Quest 2 (Hand Tracking 2.0) amazing feature yet.
I just tried it and I didn't even see my hands, it only works with the controllers..

The good news is that they release API and such for developers to now use the newest version 2.0 which is MUCH more advanced than the one before. I believe many game devs will add this from now on.

Hopefully we'll see this in VAM sometime in the (near?) future :)