Question Need Help Setting Up My Meta Quest 2 to Work with VAM

AudioArtNexus

Reactions
Patreon
AudioArtNexus
Hi,

I have no experience using a VR headset and controllers at all.

I successfully activated the Meta Quest 2 with the apple app 'Meta Quest' and it is working fine in its standalone wireless mode. I have also download the Occulus PC Software and installed it. However I have no idea how to get VAM to recognize my Quest 2. Can you explain how I do this or refer me to instructions to get VAM and the Meta Quest 2 to recognize each other. I have the Occulus Link connected but I can not get the Quest 2 to be recognized by VAM.

I have installed Steam but I'm not sure if it has to be used to connect to VAM .

Thanks for any help you can provide,
AudioArtNexus

I don't know if this will solve your problem, but in the VAM folder there is VaM_Updater.exe, when you click on it, you have Launch VR at the top.
This will popup somethink on the headset and i think you will be able to manage for the rest :)

Upvote 0
thanks for the suggestion. I was able to find the menu in the Quest headset to connect to the PC desktop and was able to open up VAM through VAM.exe, vam (open) VR bat and though VaM_Updater.exe and selecting Load VR. VAM loaded and I was able to see it in the headset and my handsets were functioning but there is an incredible delay and VAM runs very very slowly. I have a RTX 3080 so the delay is not coming from a lack of graphics processing.

Upvote 0
I've heard that Occulus Link is pretty bad in general. I use Virtual Desktop app in the headset, and launch VAM from the updater using the Launch in VR option.

Upvote 0