PositiveResult

Featured Contributor
Reactions
Patreon
PositiveResult
I'm new to making resources, i have made a couple basic clothes but there's been a few failures.

I need help with presets, some vanilla items like the Tank Top have "States" which can be selected, I'd love to do that instead of having a bunch of presets, is there a way?

Those built-in clothing "states" are hardcoded. AFAIK only options are presets or multiple entries inside clothing catalog (not ideal).

v1.21.0.4 added option of loading custom sim textures. Maybe you can find use for it (different sim presets)?

Those built-in clothing "states" are hardcoded. AFAIK only options are presets or multiple entries inside clothing catalog (not ideal).

v1.21.0.4 added option of loading custom sim textures. Maybe you can find use for it (different sim presets)?

Thanks for the info! Currently I'm doing multiple entries in clothing catalog, how would I go about different states as presets of a single clothing item?

Here is example of different states I've made, currently i make the default model, port it to VAM, then modify the model in my 3D software to resemble the state i'm trying to make and then port that into VAM as another clothing item, obviously this gets cluttered quickly so would love to learn how to achieve this with just presets, thanks.

Screenshot1.png

In this case, again AFAIK, multiple entires is the only way. Yes, it clutters catalog, but it is what it is.
Other creators (one example: YameteOuji) are doing it the same way (when it comes to different states).
You can only do as much with sim texture. For transparent or torn stuff you can use single entry with different alpha and normals.

Maybe, you can try different sim texture for more simple stuff. Like "off-shoulder" shirt Vs dressed.
But raising it (example from image above, state 3 Vs. state 1) might require some sim tricks (negative gravity and "sticky" sim texture).