Question Trying to create animated CUAs from scratch, hoping for pointers / guides...

Harbinger98

Reactions
Total Noob... I've learned a fair amount, but so much more to be learned. I'm trying to design and animate Custom Unity Assets from scratch. I've gone through the guides I could find on Blender and Unity but now I'm stuck. As a first step, I'm trying to make just a simple cylinder (in Blender), add animation (having it get longer or shorter while maintaining constant diameter), import it into Unity editor, then move it into VAM as a CUA. I guess the first question is: do I animate it in Blender and then transfer into Unity, or just move the cylinder into Unity and add animation within Unity?
Thanks for any suggestions!

Total Noob... I've learned a fair amount, but so much more to be learned. I'm trying to design and animate Custom Unity Assets from scratch. I've gone through the guides I could find on Blender and Unity but now I'm stuck. As a first step, I'm trying to make just a simple cylinder (in Blender), add animation (having it get longer or shorter while maintaining constant diameter), import it into Unity editor, then move it into VAM as a CUA. I guess the first question is: do I animate it in Blender and then transfer into Unity, or just move the cylinder into Unity and add animation within Unity?
Thanks for any suggestions!
You can animate either way , Blender or Unity.

Upvote 0
Matt,
Thank you for the response! Do you know of a beginning guide for doing this, either way? I've gotten somewhat comfortable using timeline in VAM, with keyframes and such. Is animating in Unity or Blender similar? I'll dive in and see how far I can get, but any further suggestions would be most appreciated. Thank you again!

Upvote 0