Other character stares up at ghost eyes when I use VAM in VR while seated.

Lumsculpt

Reactions
I'm loading up scenes with single characters, and they stare at a pair of ghost eyes above me when I'm seated. I tried using the posession mechanic to posess the eyes above me, but nothing happens (not entirely sure I'm doing it right since there is almost no feedback when you fail). I got the character to lock eyes with me once, but then I loaded a new scene and can't do it again.

Does anyone know how to get the character to look at me? Maybe even set it to do so by default instead of having to do a trick every time? I'm new at VAM, so you might have to break it down simply. Thank you.

You can set what a character looks at in the AutoBehaviors tab. By default this should be set to "Player". However, maybe you loaded some Look/Appearance/Preset that has this set to "Target", which makes the character look at it's "eyeTargetControl".

Note that this just moves the eyes themselves. If you want the head to turn as well, you need some Gaze plugin. For example the one included in my Life plugin collection. Just add the MacGruber_Life.cslist to your character if you want breathing and gaze, or just the MacGruber_Gaze.cs, if you want just that and use something else for breathing idle. The Gaze plugin also has an option to look at either the Player or the EyeTarget.

1609338461438.png

Note that this just moves the eyes themselves. If you want the head to turn as well, you need some Gaze plugin. For example the one included in my Life plugin collection. Just add the MacGruber_Life.cslist to your character if you want breathing and gaze, or just the MacGruber_Gaze.cs, if you want just that and use something else for breathing idle. The Gaze plugin also has an option to look at either the Player or the EyeTarget.