Question Help understanding how to troubleshoot VAM error messages

kdrummer

Reactions
I'm not really good at SW development, so I'm having a tough time understanding the breadcrumbs that error messages leave behind. Really hoping that someone can "teach me how to fish", so to speak since this sort of thing keeps happening all the time, especially after downloading so many scenes/packages from the hub.

Some things that jump out at me
  • Each time I open a package with failures, a new .dll file gets added to my top-level VAM directory. There are hundreds of these and I'm not sure if I can/should delete them
  • Many of these plugins showing errors may have been updated since the scene was released, so would that typically cause these compile issues?
    • For example, I deleted ToumeiHitsuji.DiviningRod.4, but the same issue happened with xxx.3. Didn't try beyond that.
    • Re-downloading the plugin didn't fix anything, telling me that the plugin is not corrupted
I'd really appreciate any insights that more experienced members might be able to share!

Here's an example of the error message type I'm tracking down:
!> Compile of ToumeiHitsuji.DiviningRod.4:/Custom/Scripts/ToumeiHitsuji/DiviningRod/DiviningRod.cs failed. Exception: System.IO.IOException: Sharing violation on path MVRPlugin_ToumeiHitsuji_DiviningRod_4__Custom_Scripts_ToumeiHitsuji_DiviningRod_DiviningRod_cs_9fa4ab0298c9b0806b58f27d1bfc6237_0.dll
at System.IO.File.Delete (System.String path) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DynamicCSharp.Compiler.McsMarshal.CompileShared (System.Func`3 compileMethod, System.CodeDom.Compiler.CompilerParameters parameters, System.String[] sourceOrFiles) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DynamicCSharp.Compiler.McsMarshal.CompileSource (System.String[] source) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at DynamicCSharp.Compiler.ScriptCompiler.CompileSources (System.String[] sourceContent, System.String[] extraReferences) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0