Question Do I fully own the copyright to the screenshots and videos that I create using this software?

TPNxVam

Reactions
(I'm using translation software)

Hello.

I have a question.

Do I fully own the copyright to the screenshots and videos that I create using this software?

For example, is it legal for me to sell the created videos using Vam?

(There were a number of them already sold or monetized, but I couldn't find any official wording saying it was allowed. Hence my question.)

Thank you.

I would say: yes.

Like you can create things with every other software (Photoshop, Blender, Unreal Enginge or whatever) and sell it. If you bought the software to create, the creations you made with it are yours. If you made it 100%.

Upvote 0
But I'm no lawyer! This is just my understanding of it. At least a lot of people already sell their VaM creations on patreon, so this should be no problem ;)

Upvote 0
As usual...it depends ;)

If you just use VaM build-in assets or your own assets, yes, probably.

However, if you use assets here from the Hub or elsewhere, you have to check those licences. For example some creators license their content as "NC" (non-commercial), which would prevent you from making screenshots/video made with it, if its commercial in some way. Even if the screenshots are free, if you use it to advertise other paid content it is "commercial". Same might be true if you simply run a Patreon site, everything you do VaM related could be considered commercial as you are always advertising yourself.

Some others, like myself, use "SA" for share alike, which means you have to publish your own content under the exact same licence.