Answered Clothing Texture Set Naming Conventions

Tex

Reactions
Hello,

I'm new to creating clothing making slow but steady progress. I made a really basic mini skirt and textured it in Substance Painter. I'm trying to correlate the names VaM uses to the names Substance uses so I can get everything assigned properly. So far I think this is correct:

VaM names = Substance Painter names

_MainTex = BaseColor
_SpecTex = Metallic
_GlossTex =
_AlphaTex =
_BumpMap = Normal
_DecalTex =

If anyone can fill in the blanks or correct what I have wrong I'd really appreciate it.

Thank you.

basic.JPG

I don't think the name correlate directly with different shaders. The gloss and specular are both black and white images with white as shiny and black as dull. A mirror shiney surface would be white on both, whereas a metal surface like an coin would but lighter on specular and duller on gloss.
The alpha map is black and white too, with white where you want the parts to show and black where you want it transparent.
The decal texture is a .png with a tranparent backgound used for tattoos or makeup where you want the skin or base texture to show through. For clothing this is good for faded text/designs or dirt, because the tranparancy lets it blend with the defuse base colour.
Remember you don't need all of the textures. You can control gloss and specular without the maps, it just effects the whole thing uniformly. Don't bloat your var with 6 4k png's if they don't add anything important. The most important bit is a detailed main texture and normal map.
The skirts looking good.
There is a useful addon for gimp that makes normal maps from greyscale images where lighter colours are higher points. It adds more texture to your models without having to make a high poly version and bake the textures. It's good for adding detail on cloth textures and stitching. The gozer suit i made is a good exaple. The suit itself is smooth, but the lines and bumps are from the normal map.

Last edited: