• Hi Guest!

This is a notice regarding recent upgrades to the Hub. Over the last month, we have added several new features to improve your experience.
    You can check out the details in our official announcement!

Camera at fixed positions in a scene

aneglo

Reactions
Hello there lovely people,

I would like to ask one thing, I'm new to VAM, and I'm thinking of using it to create a Visual Novel, mostly to capture images and small videos.
I'm already enjoying quite a lot, and I'm surprised as to how powerful VAM is for this purpose. Currently using the MacGruber plugins to for pictures, but I'm a bit confused as how can I add fixed positions for camera, so when changing poses or expressions, I don't loose the exact position of the camera.

Is there a recommendation either of methodology or plugin that can be used to lock the camera position into a single place?

Also, I really appreciate all the effort done by this community, awesome work, I've been learning so much already. And if anybody has any tips for VN making, please feel free to let me know <3

Hi there,

it sounds like you are talking about the player view, not the "real" camera? It is called window camera. You can set this camera to a position and never have to move it, if you don't want to, but still can look and move around with the player view. And you can always make your screenshots with MacGrubers Supershot through that camera view.
MacGruber explains the window camera and how to access it at the start of this tutorial video:

If you prefer to do it with the player view (viewport) you could use a plugin to save the position, like this one:

I also played with the idea of making a VN and started to learn/use Renpy. But I am just at the beginning and don't know where this might lead. :)
By the way: There is also a powerful plugin that can be used to make VN-like stories within VaM itself: