Referencing External DLL

IncredulousMe

Reactions
So I'm new to VAM and Unity scripting, but not C#. Still, I'm running in to an issue and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

I want to reference an external DLL and use its functions in my script. It's unity compliant (SteamVR.dll). When I work with the PluginBuilder solution in VS I can add the reference and use the functions, but in VAM when I load the plugin I get a Reference Missing error so I'm missing something.

I did a search and I couldn't really find an answer. Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks.

When you plugin is a DLL, that DLL can reference external DLLs, as long as you provide them, obviously. This might also work with regular non-DLL plugins, but I never tried. However, keep in mind that any external DLL will be limited by the same restrictions as any VaM plugin. So if the external DLL uses Reflection, System.IO or any other stuff blocked by VaM for security reasons, you are screwed. Pretty much any external software will likely use something from that list, since its very basic stuff.

Thanks for getting back to me on this. It's much appreciated.
I'm using a dll that came with VAM, SteamVR.dll, so I'm fairly certain it would adhere to the restrictions.
So if I'm understanding this I need to compile my own script in to a dll after I remove the system.reflection references?

I'm using a dll that came with VAM, SteamVR.dll, so I'm fairly certain it would adhere to the restrictions.