Question Play Mode changes affect Edit Mode

Nickster

Reactions
Hello everyone,
Im new to VAM and have the following question:
Why do changes in the play mode affect the edit mode? Is this a normal behaviour?

For example: Set position for a atom in edit mode -> switch to play mode -> change position by dragging something -> switch to edit mode -> doesn't reset

I was expecting that all the changes in play mode does not affect the edit mode. Is there a "fast save" button anywhere so that i can reset fast in edit mode? How do you do it?

A atom has many options of interaction, be it control nodes, "interactable in play" checkbox, etc. By default they're all interactable in play mode if I'm not mistaken.

If you decided to move something, why would you want it to snap back to the previous place? Well, I can think of several reasons, but usually it's good for it be in the moved place. If you don't want that to happen on a specific atom then set control nodes to fixed or disable interactable in play.

Upvote 0
Thanks for your reply.
It would be good if i can test some scenarios in playmode and then go back in edit mode to have the privously "Edit State". For example if i create an animation and would like to test it in play mode first, so i dont lose my initial position of the edit mode.

So i have to always save my whole scene to test something in play mode?

Edit: I am a unity game developer and i expected the same behaviour like in unity. You create a scene in the Editor/Designer and then you click play to test your scene in the Player window. Then you stop the Player and you go back to the Editor where you have your init state of the game.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I know nothing about Unity to compare that background.

How are you animating, using the Timeline plugin? If so and you don't add the person control to the targets list, then the person's location/rotation is not tracked. This could be useful or a problem depending on what you want to do in the animation.