Question How to get a Daz Genesis (X) shape into VaM?

SpaceHerpy

Reactions
I'm new to VaM but experienced with Daz Studio. I want to learn how to get my daz characters into VaM. I'm fine with starting with just shapes for now, as there are a lot of nice free materials available for VaM. My understanding is that VaM uses Genesis 2 figures, so I assume that I need to convert shapes to G2 before exporting to VaM. So far, I have found 2 guides:

Convert any Genesis version to G2 for use in VAM

Match any face texture you like with any Genesis 2 skin set 2022-09-09

I'd be interested to know if anyone has any other guides, and which guide people have found most useful.

I use these:

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I've used the genesis 8 guide linked above with genesis 3 too. It's a little simpler with G3. I have an app called Headshop in Daz (like Facegen). It can do G3 or G8 from a photo, but the faces still need lots of tweaking. I tend to do the face tweaking in Daz, partly because it's not maxing out my machine the whole time. Body tweaking I tend to do in Vam, so I can see the results in motion right away.

Upvote 0
I've used the genesis 8 guide linked above with genesis 3 too. It's a little simpler with G3. I have an app called Headshop in Daz (like Facegen). It can do G3 or G8 from a photo, but the faces still need lots of tweaking. I tend to do the face tweaking in Daz, partly because it's not maxing out my machine the whole time. Body tweaking I tend to do in Vam, so I can see the results in motion right away.
I'm curious. If you used both, do you find one better overall than the other in any aspect you find relevant?

Upvote 0