Help with moving files to proper folders

johara45

Reactions
Hello all, I’ve been trying to wrap my head around using Vam and I’m making extremely slow progress.

I was wondering if anyone out there have experience in working with custom looks files from Bamair1984. He makes excellent lookalikes. I have trouble following his instructions as I’m still learning all the terminology for vam. His instructions are as follows

“The VAR file to ==>> VaM_Release\AddonPackages
Open the game, read the VAR scene, and load the appearance preset.
You can increase or decrease various textures, makeup textures, body erythema, and nails.”

What is meant by opening the var scene? And load the appearance preset?

I notice in the zip file, there is a vap file but don’t know if it stays where it is in the unzipped folder or does it go to one of the vam folders? (Don’t know which one). I messaged him but haven’t had a response. I figured maybe someone here can help
Thank you

Which model are you using? Some of his models are on Mega as .zip files. Inside that zip file, there is a .var file. The .var file is what goes inside the AddonPackages folder. If you just put the zip file in AddonPackages, the program won't see it. You have to unzip it. Once you do that, then inside Vam, you can use the All Scenes Browser to find the one you just put in AddonPackages. Note that the default sort is by the date of the meta.json INSIDE the var file, not the date you installed it. You can search using a string that's part of the name. Once you open the scene, there should be the character you want. You can make whatever changes you want, then save an Appearance preset to use in some other scene.