Made a plugin preset that totally borked VaM

Metix

Reactions
Started having some very strange things happing in VaM a few days ago until I realized it had something to do with my personal plugin preset that I had recently added a few plugins to.

The behavior I was seeing, after loading this preset, was as follows: If I changed the appearance preset on a character, they would load in fine but if they moved at all there was a sort of ghost version of the previous appearance I was using when I loaded the plugins. The newly loaded appearance was completely static except their eyes and all of their hair, including eyelashes were somehow bound to this invisible ghost version of the previous appearance. Things got even more bizarre if I loaded a new scene. The skin of the character would be completely invisible, with only the hair and eyes visible. There was still a skeleton to interact with.

Anyhow, I've been a dev most of my life so I figured I'd do a solid QA on this plugin list. Went through each one, disabling them one by one and checking to see if the behavior stopped after removing a specific plugin. Maybe I could give a heads up to the author. Only problem was I had to relaunch VaM for each plugin attempt, since nothing I was able to do would clear the problem in-engine.

Well, I got through the entire list of plugins and the problem was still happening. Anyhow, all my search attempts came up blank on any issues like this. The only thing I can think of is that I saved this preset when VaM was in an unstable state or something, and the settings were somehow captured, bad enough to affect the entire application.

This isn't really a 'I need help with this now!' thing. I am not stuck. As long as I never load that preset (going to delete it right after this) everything works as expected.

Just thought I'd drop this here in case anyone might have some insight or if someone else happens to find themselves in a similar situation.