• Hello Guest!

We have recently updated our Site Policies regarding the use of Non Commercial content within Paid Content posts. Please read the new policy here.

An offical announcement about this new policy can be read on our Discord.

~The VaMHub Moderation Team
  • Hello Guest!

We posted an announcment regarding upcoming changes to Paid Content submissions.

Please see this thread for more information.

FAQ (frequently asked questions)

atani

Invaluable member
Featured Contributor
Reactions
Website
atani12.gitlab.io
For a detailed explanation of VaM's interface, see the wiki in the top menu.

Getting started

I'm new at this. How do I...? Tutorials 💖 💪
Here's a collection of videos for a introduction on common VaM uses:
Check out the guides area in Resources for more exciting things you can do with VaM.

Do I need a VR headset to use VaM?
No, you can use desktop mode, but you won't be able to use virtual hands to grab and touch things.

Is a look preset or appearance preset the same?
No, they're slightly different, but it's common to refer to one as the other when writing. It is advisable to use a appearance preset over the legacy look preset.
Appearance presets are made and loaded from the tab "Appearance presets", while Looks presets are in "Control & Physics 1".
See also the above link in "I'm new at this. How do I...?" question for a video tutorial on how to use Appearance presets.

The person in the scene is missing hair/clothes/textures/something
You're likely missing some dependencies that the scene calls for. In VaM, open the Hub Browse (button in UI), then "Scan Hub for missing referenced packages" and download what you need.
If you click on a package presented in the Hub Browse it shows also its dependencies and whether you have them or not already.

Some characters, mainly cartoon or game ports, don't use hair but mimic it with a CUA (CustomUnityAsset). See the next question on how you can load it from a preset.