• Hello Guest!

We have recently updated our Site Policies regarding the use of Non Commercial content within Paid Content posts. Please read the new policy here.

An offical announcement about this new policy can be read on our Discord.

~The VaMHub Moderation Team
  • Hello Guest!

We posted an announcment regarding upcoming changes to Paid Content submissions.

Please see this thread for more information.

DAZ 3d and VAM

ingsoc84

Reactions
Patreon
ingsoc83
So Im very new to VAM..joined today... but new to DAZ 3d..maybe an already answered question, but can DAZ 3d characters be imported into VAM, or are they entirely exclusive of each other? I have seen some posts on VAM and noticed items plugins and morphs etc seem to follow daz in many ways..thanks

hello, im interested in this too, can we import DAZ3D characters maybe as .duf file into VAM? ty all for answer.

Long answer short: Yes it is possible to import DAZ characters, but...

This can't be done from within of VaM. You have to use (and learn) DAZ3D, because VaM uses DAZ Genesis 2 (!!!) figures.
DAZ3 Characters consists of (rawly) two things: The texture and the body morph(s) (shape).
You can use Genesis 2 skin textures (mind the different sub-characters, VaM can only handle a handfull of them) out of the box by copying them in the Custom/Atom/Person/Texture folder. There are some ways to convert older DAZ generations texture to Genesis 2 with DAZ3D, but converting Genesis 3&8 textures, is a pain in the ass.

You can use (most of) Genesis 2 morphs in VaM, too. Just move them to Custom/Atom/Person/Morphs/Female(Male). They have to be in the .DSF format and VaM will convert them automatically.

There are some ways to convert morphs to Genesis 2 in DAZ3D, but this is not an easy and reliable task and you will need 3d party tools (there are tutorials in the internet). Be warned that they will not look exactly like the originals.